Photo
- - - - -

Origin of the B-29 Superfortress "Raz 'N Hell" (Korean War)

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 DoubleT

DoubleT

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 25 Days
  • 1 topics

Posted 27 March 2018 - 08:53 PM

This text was shared with me by Mr. Hugh Chaney--bombardier of #521746 during the Korean War. I'm posting it under it's own thread for the purpose of ensuring this information is not lost/obscured by time--Tim

Tim,
Thanks for your quick response, so I will get busy with some background. I am well acquainted with the bird in your message; RAZ 'N HELL First let me give you some background on my career. I was a dual rated officer i.e. pilot and bombardier. I was happy as a pig in clover in 1950. I was stationed on Okinawa flying C-54's back and forth from Oki to Japan hauling food supplies etc. In late June my squadron commander called me in and said "Chaney you are now a bombardier in the 19th BG" ( they were called groups then)

I was assigned to a crew commanded by Lt Dan Henshaw and the bird was THAT'S IT. I was a pretty hot bombardier and a short time later I was assigned to a lead crew commanded by Capt. David A. Austin. I completed 69 missions and was rotated home. Rotation was done individually then as opposed to the complete crew system in Europe in WWII.